Alumni Stories

by Chris Neary | December 6, 2011 10:33 pm

CCEE is proud of its civil engineering and construction engineering alumni. So proud, in fact, that we love to share their adventures. If you or a fellow alumnus/alumna have a story to tell, email us with the link or story idea[1]. We’ll follow through with you and post it on this page! If an Iowa State University department doesn’t publish the story, the publication is noted in parentheses.




2014 Archives

2013 Archives

2012 Archives

2011 Archives

  1. email us with the link or story idea:
  2. Cyclone Engineers honored at Homecoming alumni awards ceremony:
  3. Kevin McClain Appointed CEO of The Weitz Company, Becomes 8th Chief Executive in Construction Firm’s 162-Year History:
  4. Ex-Iowa State football player thinks his teammates would have accepted him being gay:
  5. ISU CCEE alumna Sandra Larson retires from leadership at Iowa Department of Transportation:
  6. Engineering alumna Nicole Schmidt (B.S. ConE 2009) chosen to chair Iowa State University Alumni Association Board of Directors:
  7. Pepper Construction’s Dave Pepper named 2017 inductee to Iowa State University Construction Engineering Hall of Fame:
  8. Ken Iliff and Jack McGuire inducted into AerE Hall of Distinguished Alumni:
  9. Iowa State alumnus receives ENR—ACE Outstanding Mentor Award:
  10. Women in Construction: Ask for What You Want (featuring construction engineering alum Gretchen Kinsella in Engineering News-Record:
  11. Award-winning engineer’s career inspired by 4-H project (Featuring Rachel Pichelmann (BSCE2009) in Prairie Publishing MN):
  12. Sandra Larson (BSCE’88, BSBIOL’75) receives Roy W. Crum Distinguished Service Award (Transportation Matters for Iowa, Iowa Department of Transportation):
  13. David Fitzwater is new senior project manager for RailPros (Mass Transit Magazine):
  14. Water Works hires engineer as new manager (The Courier of Waterloo, Iowa):
  15. Lyle Brehm (BSCE’95) receives 2016 Iowa County Engineers Association Special Service Award:
  16. Taking the lead: Stinn one of four current female county engineers in the state (The Daily Freeman-Journal of Hamilton County, Iowa):
  17. Iowa State engineers succeed at FOX Engineering, stay connected to their alma mater:
  18. Lifetime learning: CCEE alumnus completes bucket list goal at Iowa State:
  19. Sritharan, alumni, collaborators receive honors from Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute, American Society of Civil Engineers:
  20. 2016 alumni awards to be conferred at Homecoming:
  21. CCEE alumnus Raymond “Paul” Giroux named Distinguished Member of American Society of Civil Engineers:
  22. OU professor David A. Sabatini (PhDCE’89) named 2016 recipient of national award for global outreach:
  23. Students Study How Engineering Makes Things Work at Jack Trice Stadium (WHO-HD Channel 13 TV, Des Moines, Iowa):
  24. Ryan Francois (BSCE’14) and Michael Donlin (BSConE’14) take entrepreneurial look at flipping historical homes (KCCI 8 News, Des Moines, Iowa):
  25. Don Greenwood (BSCE’76) and Sharon Greenwood Honored with Order of the Knoll Campanile Award:
  26. Craig Denny (BSCE’71) and Late Terry Denny Recognized with Order of the Knoll Cardinal and Gold Award:
  27. Ally Smyth (BSCE’2010) Named 2015 Design Employee of the Year (Transportation Matters, Iowa Department of Transportation):
  28. Steve Bell (BSConE’81) becomes lecturer in ISU’s occupational safety engineering program:
  29. Dean McCormick (BSConE’81) named president of Construction Owners Association of America:
  30. Department chair endowed title named for Don Greenwood (BSCE’76) and Sharon Greenwood:
  31. KLJ West Fargo office hires Stephen Bianchetta (BSCE’15):
  32. Michael Conzett (BSCE’76, MSCE’78) becomes NCEES president:
  33. Ashley Buss (BSCE’08, MSCE’10, PhDCE’14): Iowa State civil engineering experience comes full circle:
  34. How Iowa State alumni built the Jack Trice Stadium South End Zone:
  35. Cannon Moss Brygger hires Mathew Higgins (BSCE’15) as structural engineer-in-training:
  36. Schemmer Associates hires Matt Shimerdla (BSCE’96) as transportation manager:
  37. Minnesota DOT hires John McDonald (BSCE’83) as assistant district engineering state aide:
  38. Paul Giroux (BSConE’79) earns ASCE Cleveland Section G. Brooks Earnest Annual Technical Lecture Award:
  39. Jerry Chase (PhDCE’83), Don Greenwood (BSCE’76) inducted into ISU Construction Engineering Hall of Fame:
  40. Lauren Wiest (BSConE’11), Bo Weber (BSCE’12) partner on major Davenport construction project:
  41. Kendall Griffith (BSConE’92) received ISU Professional Progress in Engineering Award:
  42. John Lass (BSCE’80) promoted to executive VP of field operations at Frontier Communications:
  43. Jennifer Winter (BSCE’97) named Cedar Rapids, Iowa, public works director:
  44. Mark Richard Kresser (BSCE’09) named ISU Alumni Association STATEment Maker:
  45. Tim Sullivan (BSConE’77) wins National Grain Industry Award:
  46. JoNette Kuhnau (BSCE’00, MSCE’01) listed on ENR Midwest Top 20 under 40:
  47. Raj Basavaraju (MSCE’01) named president of the American Society of Indian Engineers and Architects:
  48. Four questions for Manuel Mateos de Vicente (MSCE’58, PhDCE’61):
  49. Greg Carlson (BSConE’85) promoted to vice president at Burns & McDonnell:
  50. Iowa State CCEE students host inaugural recent alumni panel:
  51. Ezgi Yurdakul (MSCE’10, PhDCE’13) wins American Concrete Institute Young Professional Essay Contest:

Source URL: